Charitable Mini Classic Rally sponsored by Safaricom 4G+

We are delighted to announce the Mini Classic Rally in tribute to the late JS Vohra, Chairman of the Safari Classic Rally. Starting on August 16th at the Sarova Panafric Hotel in Nairobi and running to the finish at the Sarova Woodlands Hotel in Nakuru on August 19th, all entry fees from this four-day event will go to the Vohra family, to donate to a charity of their choice in honour of our much-missed former chairman.

“An impromptu rally right in the middle of the motorsport season can represent a sizeable addition to costs for rally competitors,” said EASR director, Raju Kishinani (above, right). “Therefore, the entry fee has been set at KES 21,000 ($200) per car, to allow as many Kenyan rally competitors as possible to take part in this unique event and support its charitable aims.”

Recognising the contribution made by JS Vohra to raise the profile of rallying in East Africa and beyond, Safaricom has also pledged sizeable support for the event. “We were proud to co-sponsor the most recent¬†Safari Classic Rally,” said Safaricom’s Director of Consumer Business, Sylvia Mulinge (above, centre). “However, the exuberance of the eighth Safari Classic Rally was dampened by the news that a pivotal figure in Kenyan rallying and Safari Classic Rally chairman, Jaideep Singh Vohra, had passed away while travelling between stages.

“While the management team did a tremendous job in difficult circumstances to see the rally through to its ultimate conclusion, it was not possible to pay ample tribute to the legacy of JS Vohra at the time. This year, the EASR team continues to celebrate his memory and the memories of two other important figures in Safari Classic history. The Mini Classic will be a fitting tribute to all of their efforts in support of the African rally fraternity: we are happy to support what we hope will be another exciting and engaging event.”

Details of the Mini Safari will follow in due course. Email to register your interest in this unique event.

Photo L-R: MS Vohra, Sylvia Mulinge and Raju Kishinani